About Us


Sir Robert Pattinson Academy is a successful and popular comprehensive school offering a holistic, high quality education to students. The school is situated on a beautiful site; our extensive grounds provide a safe and healthy environment for students to learn with many specialist and purpose built facilities.
The school places great importance on achievement and success for all students; we set high standards and motivate students to achieve their potential. Alongside academic achievement, there is a wealth of opportunities to develop personal and social skills.

Our History

The academy was named after Sir Robert Pattinson (1872-1954) in recognition of his membership of the education committee. He was the chairman of the then Kesteven County Council for 20 years and was briefly a Liberal MP. He was the son of William Pattinson of Ruskington.
The school was built in the grounds of Hykeham Hall and was opened in 1953 by the Right Honorable J Chuter EDE, CH, MP. The first headteacher of Robert Pattinson School, as it was then known, was Jack W Winwood BSc who served from the school’s inauguration in 1953 until 1960.
Ivan Reynolds Dip Sec Ed. succeeded Jack Winwood as the second headmaster of Robert Pattinson School; our longest serving headteacher, his tenure stretched 19 years from 1961 until 1980. Under his leadership, significant changes were made to the school. The outdoor swimming pool was opened in 1963 and the front of the school was added to provide a suite of extra classrooms; the central corridor originally had windows along its full length which opened onto the driveway.
Bryn Williams MA, MA (Phil) oversaw similarly significant developments during his time leading the school from 1981-1994; these included the introduction of both the school house system and grant maintained status. As a result of its new status, the school became self-governing. The new science block was also built, being opened in 1994 by Sir Henry Neville, Lord Lieutenant of Lincolnshire.
Stuart E Macfarlane BSc MBA FIMA led the school from 1995 until 2008 and during this time saw the school gain a number of accolades and specialist statuses. It was the first school in Lincolnshire to be appointed as a Beacon School and was also the first specialist language college. The language suite was opened in 2002 by HRH The Princess Royal and, shortly after, the John Alexander Music Suite and the new Technology Suite were opened in 2004 and 2005 respectively. Stuart left the school as one of only a handful to have gained three specialisms: languages, science and mathematics.
Our present headteacher, Helen Renard MSc NPQH, has led the school since 2009 and continues to build upon its success. The school has so far, under her leadership, become an academy, seen the opening of the new Cadet Building and had a new reception wing built. Academically, Sir Robert Pattinson Academy has been awarded International School status, Healthy School status and has won The Lincolnshire and Rutland Skills Award in both 2012 and 2013. We continue to ensure our students enjoy the very best education and look forward to the future.

Our Extensive Grounds

aerial photo

Who’s In Charge?

Mrs Heather Lee

Chair of Governing Body

As a governor, I am proud to associate myself with Sir Robert Pattinson Academy. Student achievement is of a high standard and continues to improve year on year. I have been impressed by the achievement and the behaviour of the pupils at the academy; I feel they contribute to the academy and the local community in a positive way. They should be very proud to be associated with the school; I know I am.

Mrs Helen Renard


Our House System

The school is divided vertically into four houses, named after the great English and British royal houses: Stuart, Tudor, Windsor and York. House events include sporting, academic and cultural activities. Most house competitions take place after school, although some take place during the day, for example the athletics competition. In each activity, there is a prize for the winning house and points are earned which count towards the Governors’ Cup. This is awarded to the overall champion house each academic year. Students are expected and encouraged to take an active part in house activities and to become involved as often as possible.
house logos

Winners of the Governors’ Cup

2018 ????
2017 Windsor
2016 Windsor
2015 Windsor
2014 Windsor & York
2013 Windsor
2010 Windsor
2009 Windsor
2008 Windsor
2007 Windsor
2006 Windsor
2005 Windsor
2004 Tudor
2003 Windsor
2002 Windsor
2001 Windsor