Our Governing Body

What does a governing body do?

Our governing body helps the school to set high standards by planning for the school’s future and setting targets for school improvement. Our governors offer support and advice, while holding the school to account for its results and performance.

Our community governors and parent governors, as members of the local community, help the school to respond to the needs of the public and make us accountable to the public for what we do.

Governors are involved in setting the strategic direction of the school and exercises its responsibilities in partnership with the headteacher and the senior team. The governing body, while not intervening in the day to day running of the school, maintain a presence at key school events and take an active interest in our work.

Who are our governors?

Mrs Heather Lee

Chair of Governors

Heather is a senior Human resources professional, with membership of the Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development (MCIPD) and has worked across a variety of sectors including retail, manufacturing and utilities.  Heather attended Robert Pattinson School as a student through to 6th form, going on to gain a BA (Hons.) in Economics from the University of York.  Heather has an MBA attained in 2000.  She has wide ranging experience of governance and community involvement, is a local charity Trustee and a member of both the Lincoln International Business School Advisory Board and the Greater Lincolnshire employment & Skills Board.

Dr Neil Appleby

Vice Chair

Dr. Neil Appleby is a local dentist. He became a governor of SRPA in January 2010 and became Chair of the governing body in April 2013. He completed the NCTL Chair of Governors course in 2013 and is the Safeguarding lead on the governing body.  He has run his own small business for 18 years and brings knowledge of working in a highly regulated industry.

Mr Nick Chambers

Co-opted Governor

Mr Pete Ward

Staff Governor

Mrs Karen Merchant

Parent Governor

Karen has been a parent governor since 2011, Her son has recently left the joint sixth form to attend university.
Karen works as a Lunchtime Supervisor at a local primary academy and as a volunteer in the classroom.
For the past ten years, she has worked as a volunteer for her local church, working with children of all ages.
Karen completed a Level 3 Teaching Assistant qualification in 2010.
She is also a qualified makeup artist and beauty therapist.

Mr Dale Hardy


Dale started as Head Teacher at SRPA in September. He works closely with other Headteachers to ensure the Trust’s strategies are realised and in particular with the Head of North Kesteven School where the Academy works in a collaborative arrangement for sixth form provision.

Dr J Holmes

Vice Chair

Mrs Tracey Gibson

Staff Governor

Started employment at SRPA in January 1994 as science laboratory technician, was promoted to senior laboratory technician in 2001 and now Lead DLO in Science. Tracey was a staff governor for 7 years but had to step down due to personal circumstances, she has now re-joined the governing body.

Mrs Paula Robinson

Community Governor

Paula works as a Community Champion at Asda.  Within her role she does a lot of volunteering in the local community as well as do a lot of fund-raising and liaise with local charities and good causes.  Paula has had ties with SRPA since 2011.  She believes the school plays a big part in our local community and that her role of Community Governor will help to maintain the high standards of the Academy.

Sgt Sarah Walker

Community Governor

Mrs Natalie Thomas

Co-opted Governor

Natalie Thomas is a Partner at the local solicitors firm Bridge McFarland.  Natalie is the Risk Partner and is responsible for ensuring that the Firm is compliant and risk free.  This offers a skill set useful to the Governing Body.  Natalie became a Governor in March 2016 after having developed strong links with the Academy and in particular its work related learning skills program.

Rev Canon Alan Robson

Community Governor

Alan has previously been a Chair of Governors at Wooton CE Primary, Spilsby Primary, Toynton All Saints Primary and De Aston Academy.